lineres.blogg.se

Slash guitar
Slash guitar







slash guitar

And that’s basically what we’ve been doing since 2012. Once we went on tour, it was everything that you, as a kid, want a band to be – fun and easy. And I thought, if anybody could sing all the material from my catalog – which was what I was going to do for a tour to support that record – it would be this guy. to record two songs, “Starlight” and “Back From Cali.” He had an amazing range, and was such an easygoing guy. He put a vocal on it and sent it back and it was fucking amazing. I thought, “This guy must be really good.” So I called him and we talked, and I sent him a demo of one song. Right about that moment, Myles Kennedy, who I’d never heard sing, had been flown out to England to possibly lead the ill-fated Led Zeppelin tour. I didn’t know who’d be the right singer for them. I was on my own for the first time in a while. That record was a product of a single idea – I didn’t have any designs on working with anybody for an extended period of time. Did you talk to either of them about having a band together? No. In 2010 you made a solo album with guest appearances by lots of different singers, including Iggy Pop and Lemmy. Which means I’m a direct product of that too. My parents were sweet, sensitive, peace-loving, conscientious individuals, very much products of the ‘60s generation. I have none of those cliched complaints about my parents keeping me down, and trying to make me into a dentist, or all the other stuff most rock people complain about. Well, my dad’s still with us, so let’s not talk about him in the past tense (laughs). Your mom was a costume designer for a lot of musicians, and your dad designed album covers. And four is a milestone worth recognizing, that we’d made four records at this point. So I figured I’d rather avoid it altogether. The reason we called this record 4 is because there was no title I could think of that didn’t in some way reference the year we just had. (Laughs) In the back of my mind, I feel like someone mentioned that, but it was never a consideration for me. When you named the album 4, was there any thought to using Roman numerals, like Led Zeppelin did sometimes? First they had all the security to deal with, but now with COVID, it’s really fucking like pulling teeth. It’s always a pain in the ass, and more so now. I don’t think there’s ever been a time when traveling on tour has been enjoyable. It’s amazing what you’ll go through in order to do that (laughs). And I go through whatever the fuck I have to go through to get up and play every night. I love touring, but only because I love playing. In February, Slash Featuring Myles Kennedy and the Conspirators released their fourth album, titled 4, and began a six-week tour, followed by Guns N’ Roses dates from May to December. In the decades since GNR de-poufed metal, Slash has left the band and rejoined, formed and left Velvet Revolver, played on sessions with artists ranging from Lemmy to Michael Jackson, and formed a band with Alter Bridge singer Myles Kennedy. Slash had a guitar tone like sulphuric acid, and all he wanted to do was glower, not show off. was imitating Eddie Van Halen’s sleight of hand shredding when Guns N’ Roses released Appetite For Destruction in 1987. In the ad, a Guns N’ Roses bandmate later recalled, Slash listed his musical influences: Fear, Aerosmith, early Alice Cooper.Īlmost 40 years later, those influences are still the hallmarks of Slash’s playing – some punk, some garage rock, some bluesy hard rock, and an astringent mix of volume and distortion.

Slash guitar free#

While trying to cobble a band together, the guitarist put an ad in the Recycler, a free paper that functioned like a Tinder for California hard rock bands, including Motley Crue and Metallica. When Slash was 18 or 19 – musicians are not famous for their recall of exact dates, so let’s leave it vague – his fame didn’t stretch beyond L.A., where local store owners knew him as an elusive shoplifter.









Slash guitar